53rd & 6th Halal Cart

April 28, 2009

The Halal cart on 53rd Street and 6th Avenue almost always has a huge lineup. The street cart that serves Halal Chicken & Rice is just outside the Hilton is really popular and my friend Kaushal had been talking about it for months before I actually got to try some. As you get closer to the cart you can see your chicken or beef being prepared. I don’t remember if it was shaved off a stack but I do remember seeing a lot of cut chicken on a hot plate being furiously cut up and tossed around before placing it on a bed of flavoured rice that came from a container in the cart. Hot Sauce and white sauce is optional though I avoided the hot sauce when I ate there. I found a video on youtube where someone was complaining about how spicey the chicken was. The chicken isn’t too spicey and is well flavoured. It almost tastes like a dry biryani except for the obvious fact that the spices used are really different. There are a couple of Halal carts nearby without a lineup but I was never brave enough to risk trying them. They could be just as good and I guess I should have been more adventurous and given the other carts a chance. Lineups can get pretty long and you should expect to wait for atleast 15-20 minutes before you get your food.

Leave a Reply

